Surgery
GME/Clinical Education Librarian
Surgery Resources for FACULTY
Contents:
Anatomy Teaching Tools (e-Anatomy; Thieme Teaching Assistant, etc.)
Reference Management Tools (includes reference management tools, e.g., Zotero, EndNote, etc.)
Publishing (includes information on OA publisher/Lane Library author processing fee agreements)
Anatomy Teaching Resources
Select the body region of interest (brain, knee, etc.), then use your mouse-wheel to roll through layers of MRI and CT images. Very popular with radiologists and surgeons as a teaching tool. Mobile access also available.
An app that provides 3D modelling with structure-specific innervation and arterial supply. It allows users to view body systems, add layers, explore physiological features, and range of motion. Tools include; cutting, labeling, bone spurs, screen recordings, and quiz creation. Works with Windows, Mac OS, Android, and iOS. Installation guide
Digital atlases of American surgeon and medical illustrator, Frank Netter, MD.
The Thieme Teaching Assistant is a presentation tool featuring all 2,000+ illustrations and clinical images from Atlas of Anatomy by Anne M. Gilroy, Brian R. MacPherson, and Lawrence M. Ross. This platform enables instructors to enhance students' learning experiences by incorporating dynamic visuals into lectures and course materials to present complex concepts with clarity.
Board Review, CME, Maintenance of Certification and Additional Education Resources
- AudioDigestProvides a web and mobile-based platform for CME and Maintenance of Certification (MOC) lectures and quizzes in over a dozen major medical specialties. As the name implies, the lectures are audio-only. Use the AudioDigest web dashboard to set your library of lectures and then sync with the mobile app.
- BoardVitalsExam preparation for third-year medical students in clinical rotations: family medicine, internal medicine, neurology, OBGYN, pediatrics, psychiatry, and surgery.
- SCOREThe SCORE Portal® is a nonprofit initiative to provide residents and residency programs with high-quality educational materials and a structured program for self-learning. SCORE focuses on all areas of general surgery and related specialties as well as fellowship-level content. The Portal is aligned with the SCORE Curriculum Outline, a list of topics to be covered in a five-year general surgery residency. SCORE also provides a Pediatric Surgery Curriculum Outline and a Vascular Surgery Curriculum Outline.
Keeping up with the Latest Research
Web Apps
Browse, read, and keep track of your favorite academic journals. This website and mobile app offers a simple, intuitive interface which makes searching and browsing journals easy by title, subject, or ISSN. Access Instructions. . .
Feedly provides a free, basic level membership to a reader where users can activate and organize RSS feeds from their favorite websites. RSS is a web feed that allow users to access updates from websites.
Newsletters
Register with your Stanford, Stanford Health Care or Stanford Childrens Health email to access subscriber-only newsletters, customizable feeds, and webinars on breaking news in biotech, pharma, and health tech industries
Commentary
Reviews over 250 scientific and medical journals. The physician-editors survey high-impact medical journals in specialties and topics to identify key findings. The summaries are presented with a clinical perspective and expert commentary.
Register with your Stanford, Stanford Health Care or Stanford Childrens Health email to access subscriber-only newsletters, customizable feeds, and webinars on breaking news in biotech, pharma, and health tech industries.
Database Auto-Alerts
This NIH tutorial shows how to set up automatic email alerts for searches in PubMed. Use the feature to keep up with specific research topics.
Reference Management Software
Reference management tools help you collect, manage, cite, and share bibliographic references. These tools can be used to automatically generate both in-text citations and bibliographies, organize PDFs, and share references between team members. Lane Library recommends Zotero, which can be downloaded and used free of charge, for most users.
Reference Management Software helps you:
- Save time
- Stay organized
- Easily save references from databases and the web
- Create citations automatically
- Quickly change citation styles
Zotero is a free reference manager produced by the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University. Notable features include web browser integration, online syncing, generation of in-text citations, footnotes, and bibliographies, as well as integration with the word processors like Microsoft Word and Google Docs.
Lane Library recommends using the Zotero desktop client alongside the Zotero connector, a bookmarklet that will allow you to save materials from the web to Zotero in a single click as well as Zotfile, a free plugin that automatically renames and manages PDFs and other attachments.
EndNote is a reference manager produced by Clarivate Analytics. If you routinely work on large evidence synthesis projects and use certain features within Covidence, Endnote may be preferable to other reference management options.
A limited version of Endnote is available as part of Lane Library's subscription to Web of Science, but the standalone version must be purchased through the Stanford Bookstore.
Publishing
- Lane Library OA Author Processing Charge AgreementsLearn about the discounts on article processing charges available to Stanford affiliates through Lane Library's subscriptions and negotiations with publishers.